Taking a break: Kirby!

Etsy: Plusherie

 

Owwie… that Toothless plush really did a number on my wrist. This week, let’s take a break and just chat. In fact, let’s make a throwback to a plushie made from someone else’s pattern: Kirby!

Before we go into some rambling, I’d like to take a moment to mention that I’ve made a new deviantART account! I will be posting more frequently on dA, (pics only) so if you like what you’ve seen on this blog so far, please give my page a +watch!

1398097188358

My hand makes a nice chair.

In case you didn’t know…

Kirby is a pink puffball who goes on journeys that typically entail restoring the balance of Dream Land.  He has the ability to swallow enemies and copy their powers. When he copies powers, he wears hats representing said power.

 

So about this Kirby…

This is the Kirby I made for my friend. Let’s call him East. I haven’t known him very long, but I find him special all the same.

I met East early in this school year. While he was waiting to ask the TA a question, he was talking to my friend named Puff. I went up to hug Puff, and East saw me and said, “hey, you hug everyone else, I want a hug too!” I liked East’s hug, because he’s squishy like a teddy bear. XD

This was especially so now, in second semester, because in the winter, I lost my “huggle buddy” in the mountains. It made me feel very empty inside. But when hugs can mean so much from someone you don’t know very well, maybe it’s not such a big deal? I don’t know.

What I do know is, I was happy to make this for East, especially when I saw how happy he was to receive it. We used the money from the Kirby sale to buy fries for each of us. When he was studying for the exam that day, he put Kirby on his bag and said, “Kirby’s watching me study.” Now I’m making a plushie for his girlfriend! What is it you ask? Well, you’ll just have to find out another time. 😀

Finished Kirby on the bus.

Finished Kirby on the bus.

That concludes this week’s very short post.  This was meant to be a lot fancier. Fancy how? Again, that’s in the future. For now, I think it’s time to add more things to the shop and take pictures of that aforementioned plushie for the Lady of East. (Hahaha, see what I did there? :P)

Also if “East” is reading this……… hi. 🙂 *hug*

Together at last :3

Together at last :3

Pika for now~

 

Here is the original Kirby pattern: http://nerdigurumi.com/2010/10/amigurumi-kirby-with-pattern.html

Leave a Reply

