Homemade Coffee Jello – Dessert Days #2

Remember when this blog was still called Plushies by Valerie? Of course you do, it was only a month ago. Oh wait, no, you don’t, since no one reads these things. *sigh* Red Fairy, why must you curse me with such foul moods?

I don’t know what it was about K. Even though we didn’t know each other long, or spend much time together, I can’t stop thinking of him. Kitty says that’s because K left a good impression. 🙂 I’ve kept from texting him lately, so he doesn’t think I’m some Overly Attached Potential Ex-Girlfriend or something. I made this for K back in June, and he seemed so happy. I wonder if talking this out here will help…

coffee-jello

This idea came from this Cooking with Dog video. Francis the dog is so puffy I’m gonna die. >w<

 

Coffee Jello – Val’s Version

aintnobody

Unlike Chef, I used instant coffee. But not just any coffee; this was coffee that my dad asked my uncle to send from Africa. It’s much finer (it’s literally powder) than the Maxwell House kind we buy, and it also has a stronger taste.

First, I divided the gelatin packet into two, as evenly as possible. I used Knox gelatin, which comes in 15 gram packets. According to the instructions, 1 packet sets 2 cups. Therefore, I used half the powder to set the first cup of coffee, which I made black with 2 sugar. (The way my dad usually makes his coffee)

I poured the coffee into two dessert dishes and let it chill until firm, but not fully set. This took about 20 minutes. *Tip: if your bottom layer of jello is still warm and unsettled, it may melt the top layer and ruin the entire thing. However, you still want the bottom layer to be a little soft, so that the layers fuse together properly. Be patient!

Then, I made a second cup of coffee, but this time I made it my way, by adding creamer:

The cream of the crop of all creamers.

Before you ask, no this creamer does not contain alcohol. 😛

Once the black coffee layer was firm, I poured this new layer on top, and let everything set overnight.

After that, it’s just a matter of making one layer of whipped topping, sprinkling with whatever you like on a latte (I used cocoa) and serving one of the bowls to that special someone.

*Tip: If you’re making the whipped topping from a powder, use a splash of the same creamer for the flavouring.

Snapchat-20140615082349[1]

For best results, enjoy with panda food. 🙂

Before this, I tried making the jelly similar to the original recipe. I used less sugar so the coffee jelly would be stronger, and poured in a mix of milk and creamer:

coffe-jelly

It’s like soup, dessert, and coffee… all in one course!

*Tip: don’t watch cooking videos when you’re hungry. x_x

 

*sigh* I really should prepare blogs in advance, for when I’m not in such a happy state. Bad moods entail remembering sad memories and “what if” scenarios. I was hoping this week’s post would be about the awesome headband I’d been longing to make, but duplicate stitching on garter stitch is harder than it looks. *sigh* May have to do it the old fashioned way. Meh, not like I go out much in the summer; where else do you think I get all these DIY motivations? 😛

Anyway, this dessert is great after a good meal. Maybe as a date idea, you can have dinner, and then come home to enjoy this dessert/coffee in comfort.

Here is the inspirational video again. I recommend checking out the entire channel; everything looks sooooo yummy!

Does this dessert sound tasty? Have you tried this, or similar recipes? Do you want a doggy like Francis?Comment below!

Pika, so happy~

Leave a Reply

