Baymax (Big Hero 6) – Amigurumi #12

The best part about making plushies is that you never run out of ideas. As long as cute characters exist, you will always have inspiration and requests to make new things.

IMG_20141108_212049192

For instance, here is Baymax from Big Hero 6, released in theaters this week. This was quite an adventure to make. First the body was too triangular, and then it was too round. At long last, I settled for this one-piece snowman thingy. Once it was stuffed, it looked much better. I also gave up on figuring out the fingers. If anyone asks, he’s a chibified version. 😛 I’m going to take Baymax to see himself on the big screen.

What could it be? Or "who?"

Who’s that Ami? It’s BAYMAX!

I was a little too excited to hear My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark during the trailer. And this clip was too adorable:

:confession bear: I’ve never been big into Western comics. And no, I’m not including Archie Comics. But I do like the “comic book movies” they’ve put out in recent years. After all, comic book movies are designed for people who don’t read comics. (I’ll leave the details of that argument to A Dose of Buckley.) I don’t know what Baymax is like in the comic, but I like the way he is in the movie. It’s funny to watch him chasing the soccer ball. Hahaha, he’s too fat to catch it!

standing

I think there’s a psychological reason behind it, but squishy things are well-received as popular characters. Case in point: Kirby, Jigglypuff, Olaf, Jake the Dog, and of course Baymax. They can bend, stretch, expand and contract. Maybe we subconsciously want to hug and squeeze them, and that’s why the squishier, the better.

If you are ever sad, talk to someone. If you don’t have anyone, hug something cuddly, like a puppy. (Or a plushie!) Will it make the bad things go away? Probably not. But it helps.

"It is all right to cry."

“It is all right to cry.”

This Baymax was improvised by me. If you want your own, Vivi has a cute pattern for sale. It has fingers!

Are you going to see Big Hero 6? What do you like to cuddle when you’re sad? Comment below!

Pika, so happy~

Leave a Reply

