Big Kirby and Life Thoughts – Amigurumi #20

Update: Kirby is now complete, and available to purchase!

11136831_10155444890915596_2003268404_n

Last weekend’s non-existant post wasn’t the penguins’ fault this time; it was Kirby’s. He ate all the spaghetti!

IMG_20150411_232322417

Get a load of this guy, he hid his face so he wouldn’t look guilty. >: O But really, I just need to finish the face. Here is the comparison to the big Snorlax:

IMG_20150411_232333643

I’ve already made Kirby, using a pattern off Nerdigurumi. This one was made from a modified version of hers, using more stitches and double crochet. Since I gave that Kirby to East, here is a Bob-omb of that same size, for a better idea of this new Kirby:

IMG_20150411_232402018

Something about making big, cuddly plushies gives me a chance to have real thoughts. Or maybe it’s the fact that Kirby’s from Dreamland. Anyway, in light of a conversation I overheard, felt this would be appropriate.

I’ve decided to put University on hold. I need a break from the coding and coffee binges. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: I want to create. I want to have fun. And I want to make the world plush. I can’t do that with the demands of Uni in the way. However, I’ve also decided to follow my old dream and take animation in college.

All this time I’ve been floating along in life, making excuses to put off this or that. Feeling out of place or incompetent because all around, people are graduating, having kids, having careers… Everyone cheers, saying “you’re so smart, all that programming is not easy,” “wow, you’re learning Mandarin?” “omg you’re so creative…”

I realized that those were all well and good… but they were only parts of what I had become. Somewhere along the lines, I forgot what I really, really wanted to do. Ever since I was a wee little thing, I’ve loved cartoons and animated movies. I’ve loved bright colours, funny animations, and lovable characters. How could I let people tell me that arts and animation were “not real jobs?” — hey, Kirby! Get away from that! It’s not even cooked yet!

IMG_20150411_232417686

Kirby is watching the chicken.

Today’s post will be short, so I can go cook the chicken before faceless Kirby eats it. I’ve been on a cooking kick lately… maybe I should start blogging about the dishes. 😛

What are your dreams? Have you ever made a decision to take a huge turn in life? Comment below!

Pika, so happy~

2 thoughts on “Big Kirby and Life Thoughts – Amigurumi #20

  1. Pingback: *DO NOT CLICK OR POST BEFORE DECEMBER 30, 2016* | Val's Crafts

  2. Pingback: In Response to the 2015 Capsule | Val's Crafts

Leave a Reply

