Torchic (mini plush) – Amigurumi #9

Be me, back to school for the year.

Realize there’s a Zora’s chance on Death Mountain that you’ll pass one particular class.

Pray that your attempts to get out of said class will be successful – it’s all you can do right now.

Regain your social life.

Get thank you hugs for bringing your copy of Cards Against Humanity to the board games club.

Reunite with Iron Man, hug him, and never want to let go.

Remember you have pizza night with the girls (oh, and Kitty) in two days.

“Where has the week gone?!” I cry.

 

This week was supposed to feature Charmander. And then I realized that making Charmander from scratch was a lot easier said than done. The reason Squirtle was so easy is because Squirtle is fairly round and made up of spherical shapes. Charmander, on the other hand, is more asymmetrical, since it’s based off a lizard. Spherical shapes are much easier to form, while oblong shapes like the ones I used for Charmander’s head and body have to be just right in order to look convincing. Much ripping out occurred.

And holy sheep on the farm, the tail. THE. BLOODY. TAIL. If you look carefully at the official art, Charmander’s yellow belly spot extends onto its tail. I like to keep my plushies as true to the original material as possible, so I began trying over and over to get the tail just right. First I thought about making the tail separate from the body and sewing the tummy/tail panel on seperately, and then I thought about trying to attach the tail as one piece to the body…

Yeah, this is one project I’ll put on the back burner until further notice.

Fortunately, I remembered that this week is very important, and therefore I had a backup project!

 

I’ve mentioned Kitty in a few blogs, and this one is no exception. This bonus is dedicated to him because this weekend shall be his last weekend in Canada. *sad face* We are going to spend an evening having a pizza dinner with some old friends. I made him this as a present:

wee-baby-torchic

It’s a wee baby Torchic! Kitty’s not big into plushies, and yet it didn’t feel right sending him off without something to help his world stay plush. He also likes Torchic because, “it’s the cutest [fluffy] chicken. ;w; “And so, this little “baggage buddy” was born. I tied a chain loop on the back, so you could tie it to something. The loop was inspired off the little Winnie the Pooh cell phone charms you can get in gacha machines. Back when Kitty and I first met, I had one of these Winnies tied to my old Motorola Razr flip phone. (Late 2000’s nostalgia – it’s a thing, apparently!) Winnie the Pooh was inside a little beach house, and his face looked like this: :O

Making a tiny plushie into a “bag buddy” charm is a great gift idea!

chain-loop

Ah, Kitty. Seems only yesterday I was 15 years old, and this weirdo came up and hugged me because I said I was cold. For a good amount of time, however, life wasn’t so great between the two of us. In first year University, it got so bad that new friends were warning me to let him go. Which I did for a while. And it feels so much better now… I met new friends and had lots of fun! It’s amazing what can happen when you let go of the things that put you in a bad mood.

I don’t remember what happened to make us friends again, but that time apart was just what we both needed. It’s 8 years later and we’re on much better terms, if I do say so myself. In fact, I think Kitty is my closest guy friend. He listens whenever I have something to say, and I tell him everything.

tmi

Even stuff he doesn’t want to know!

Kitty is going far away to study. Thanks to the power of modern technology, he won’t be too far away in case of rant emergencies. Of course, I’ll still miss going over to his place for dinner, or ranting in the same timezone.

 

….Several hours later……

So I totally thought I scheduled this to post at 5:00. Turns out I didn’t. Whoopsie. It’s okay, because now I can post this picture of Kitty with Torchic:

Kitty and the cutest little chicken. ;w;

Kitty and the cutest little chicken. ;w;

If Kitty’s reading this… Take care, slipper face. :3

Sniff sniff sniff...

*Sniff sniff sniff*… Torchic, Tor…. (This is a strange Pokeblock…)

Questions? Concerns? Do you have a close friend you miss right now? Comment below!

Pika, so happy~

Leave a comment